Our Friends Place is proud to recognize Christine Cook as the 2014 Ebby Award honoree. Christine Cook is wife, mom, and President of Sleep Experts. Since Christine and her husband Chris opened their first store in 2003, Cook envisioned a company culture of heartfelt commitment to giving back to the community. By founding the company's Share the Gift of Sleep mattress donation program, she achieved just that.

Share the Gift of Sleep mattress donation program recycles customers' old mattresses to more than 40 non-profit organizations. To date, Sleep Experts has donated more than 12,000 beds valued at $1,000,000, resulting in more than a million nights of sleep for thousands of local families. Most bed recipients are women and children who have been victims of domestic violence, child abuse, neglect, extreme poverty or homelessness.

To further assist women and children in crisis, Cook hosts public awareness campaigns by donating valuable airtime to run Public Service Announcements (PSAs) on local radio and TV stations. Cook also hosts annual events, such as Share the Warmth Blanket Drive in November, encouraging community members to donate new and gently used blankets at its stores. Over the past 10 years, Share the Warmth has donated more than 20,000 blankets and other comfort items for area shelters serving women and children.

Christine Cook joins Ebby Halliday Acers, Sister Margaret Ann Moser, Elizabeth Solender, Sarah Losigner, Suzanne Bryan, Lyn Berman, Dr. Martha Felini and Sergeant Louis Felini, as well as Sharan Goldstein as Ebby Award Winners.

The Ebby Award recognizes individuals who contribute significant achievements for the advancement of girls and/or women in North Texas. The Ebby Award is named after Ebby Halliday Acers, the award's first recipient in 2005, for her commitment and contributions to women in our community.

For questions and additional information about the Ebby Awards, please contact Beth Waller at 214.520.6268.

Past Ebby Award Recipients:
Ebby Halliday Acers
Sister Margaret Ann Moser, President, Ursuline Academy
Elizabeth Solender, President, Solender/Hall and Past President, CREW
Sarah Losinger, Philanthropist
Suzanne Bryan, Community Volunteer
Lyn Berman, Executive Director for Attitudes & Attire
Martha Felini and Louis Felini
Sharan Goldstein